Skip to main content


International credit mobility

For almost 30 years, Europe has funded the Erasmus programme, which has enabled over three million European students to spend part of their studies in another higher education institution elsewhere in Europe. Erasmus+ now opens up these opportunities, allowing for mobility from other parts of the world to "Programme Countries", and for outgoing mobility for European students to go to "Partner Countries”.

Credit mobility can be defined as a limited period of study or traineeship abroad (in the framework of on-going studies at a home institution) for gaining credits. After the mobility phase, students return to their home institution, where the credits are recognised and they complete their studies.

Programme Countries: 28 EU  Member States + Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey;
Partner Countries:  All other countries worldwide; grouped together in different regions. Not all Partner Countries are eligible for international credit mobility. Switzerland, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, the Vatican City State, as well as Iran, Iraq, Yemen and the countries of the Gulf Cooperation Council (Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates) are not eligible for international credit mobility.

In order for the mobility to happen, a HEI in a Programme Country must sign an inter-institutional agreement with a HEI in a Partner Country. Under this agreement, it can host students, doctoral candidates or staff from the Partner-Country HEI, and can send students, doctoral candidates or staff to the Partner-Country HEI. In the agreement, the sending and receiving institutions agree on the range of courses open to visiting students and on the options for staff mobility. These agreements make sure that the sending institution will recognise the credits gained by its students for successfully completed activities abroad, which will contribute to the student's degree once they return.

Programme-Country HEIs require an Erasmus Charter for Higher Education to apply and take part; by signing the inter-institutional agreement, Partner-Country HEIs agree to adhere to these principles. Source.